Saturday, February 5, 2011

Saltzman Says...7 enter NFL Hall of Fame

Lucky #7 Going to Canton

Deion Sanders, Marshall Faulk and Shannon Sharpe lead the class of 2011 into Canton this year.  They are joined by NFL Films creator Ed Sabol, DE Richard Dent, and LB's Les Richter and Chris Hanburger.  The three headliners are all in the media, which could play a role in their election.  All three are absolutely deserving, but so is Curtis Martin and Tim Brown, who aren't on television and haven't kept their names out there.  It is absolutely criminal that Martin, Brown, Jerome Bettis, Cris Carter and Andre Reed are not in the Hall of Fame yet.  I would assume that their time will come soon, but then again, Art Monk can tell you all you need to know about WR bias.  His wait was so horrible, who knows if voters will wise up and vote Carter, Brown or Reed in.  Martin and Bettis are more likely to go in next year because running backs tend to get treated more fairly by voters. 

2012 should include Jerome Bettis, Tim Brown, Cris Carter, Curtis Martin and Willie Roaf, along with two Veteran's Committee selections.

2013 might be the time for Dermontti Dawson, Charles Haley and Andre Reed. 

No comments:

Post a Comment